Subject: Saving your drawing



When you save a drawing, your work is saved in a drawing (.dwg) file.

After you have saved your drawing for the first time, you can save it with a new name. In addition to drawing (.dwg) files, you can also save a drawing in a Drawing Exchange Format (.dxf) file or a drawing template (.dwt) file.

If you created your drawing using a template, saving the drawing does not alter the original template.

If you need an added level of security for your drawing files, you can save the draw­ing with a password so only you and those who know the password can open the drawing.

Tell me about...

Saving a drawing

Saving a drawing with a new name or file format

Saving a drawing with a password

Saving_your_drawing
© Copyright 2022. BackToCAD Technologies LLC. All rights reserved. Kazmierczak® is a registered trademark of Kazmierczak Software GmbH. Print2CAD, CADdirect, CAD.direct, CAD Direct, CAD.bot, CAD Bot, are Trademarks of BackToCAD Technologies LLC. DWG is the name of Autodesk’s proprietary file format and technology used in AutoCAD® software and related products. Autodesk, the Autodesk logo, AutoCAD, DWG are registered trademarks or trademarks of Autodesk, Inc. All other brand names, product names, or trademarks belong to their respective holders. This website is independent of Autodesk, Inc., and is not authorized by, endorsed by, sponsored by, affiliated with, or otherwise approved by Autodesk, Inc. The material and software have been placed on this Internet site under the authority of the copyright owner for the sole purpose of viewing of the materials by users of this site. Users, press or journalists are not authorized to reproduce any of the materials in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including data storage and retrieval systems, recording, printing or photocopying.