Subject: Deleting settings



CADdirect_4">CADdirect_3">CADdirect_2">CADdirect_1">CADdirect">You can use the Explorer to delete many of the items that appear in the Elements list. You can delete a layer, linetype, text style, coordinate system, view, block, or dimen­sion style.     

Because you may have already created entities on a particular layer or using a partic­ular linetype or text style, deleting one of these elements requires that you make cer­tain choices from options the program presents. For example, if you attempt to delete a layer, the program prompts you to specify whether you want to move any entities from that layer to another layer. Every drawing has at least one layer, the default layer, named “0.” You cannot delete or rename this layer. Your drawing can also con­tain an unlimited number of additional layers, each of which you assign a unique name.    

If you try to delete a linetype, the program prompts you to specify whether you want to convert all entities drawn using that linetype to a different linetype. If you attempt to delete a text style, the program prompts you to specify whether you want to convert all text entities created using that style to a different style.    

To delete a layer and relocate its entities to another layer

   1   Do one of the following to choose Explore Layers ():     

   On the ribbon, choose Home > Explore Layers (in Layers) or choose Tools > Layers (in Explorer).

   On the menu, choose Format > Explore Layers or choose Tools > Explorer > Explore Layers.

   On the Explorer toolbar, click the Explore Layers tool.

   Type explayers and then press Enter.

   2   From the Layer Name list, select the layer that you want to delete.

If that layer is the current layer, layer 0 automatically becomes the current layer.

   3   Choose Edit > Delete, or click the Delete tool ().

   4   From the dialog box, click the Change option and then select the layer to which you want to relocate entities.

Delete a layer and its entities.
In the command bar, type LAYDEL, then select an entity that is assigned the layer you want to delete. Using this method also deletes all entities assigned the layer.

Deleting_settings
© Copyright 2022. BackToCAD Technologies LLC. All rights reserved. Kazmierczak® is a registered trademark of Kazmierczak Software GmbH. Print2CAD, CADdirect, CAD.direct, CAD Direct, CAD.bot, CAD Bot, are Trademarks of BackToCAD Technologies LLC. DWG is the name of Autodesk’s proprietary file format and technology used in AutoCAD® software and related products. Autodesk, the Autodesk logo, AutoCAD, DWG are registered trademarks or trademarks of Autodesk, Inc. All other brand names, product names, or trademarks belong to their respective holders. This website is independent of Autodesk, Inc., and is not authorized by, endorsed by, sponsored by, affiliated with, or otherwise approved by Autodesk, Inc. The material and software have been placed on this Internet site under the authority of the copyright owner for the sole purpose of viewing of the materials by users of this site. Users, press or journalists are not authorized to reproduce any of the materials in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including data storage and retrieval systems, recording, printing or photocopying.